Horror Writer Spotlight: Jessica McHugh

Here at Bloody Bookish we believe writers are real life superheros.

And horror writers? Another breed entirely.

Our Horror Writer Superhero Spotlight shines the spotlight squarely on the twisted minds who bring you dark literature in all its dastardly forms.

Today’s spotlight shines on Jessica McHugh. Find out why one should never underestimate the powers of pink champagne…

Q: What is the name of your alter ego?
A: Lady Danger, convivial contender for artistic freedom.

Q: Who or what is your nemesis?
A: Day Workinger, squasher of morning muses.

Q: What would be a fitting name for your sidekick?
A: The Champagne Kid, who fuels my superpower with a perfect supply of pink champagne.

Q: If you could (or do) have superpowers, describe them.
A:  My powers are always with me, but they are intensified by intoxication. Especially when champagne-lubricated, I have the power to compose worlds and events into existence. Day Workinger and her band of mad scientist minions are no match for Lady Danger on a buzz of pink champagne and azure ink. With a swipe of my pen, I can transport them into hellish dimensions where they are tortured throughout the night. Coming morning, however, the worlds fade and my enemies are released. One day, that will change…

Q: How would you conquer the forces of good/evil (depending on your Superhero’s moral affiliation).
A: Unfortunately, conquering the forces of evil are still beyond my grasp, but I can give them a hell of a bad night.

Q: What would be your ultimate downfall?
A: While champagne and other intoxicants increase my powers, too much too fast can have the opposite effect and trap me in a coma. In said coma, I can still create worlds but not bring them into existence. That’s why The Champagne Kid is so important. He doles out the precise amount of libation so that I may use my superpowers to the best of my ability and give Day Workinger and her minions the smack down they deserve.

More about Jessica McHugh

Jessica McHugh is an author of speculative fiction that spans the genre from horror and alternate history to epic fantasy. A prolific writer, she has devoted herself to novels, short stories, poetry, and playwriting. She has had ten books published in three years, including “Rabbits in the Garden”, “The Sky: The World” and the first three installments in her “Tales of Dominhydor” series. More info on Jessica’s speculations and publications can be found at JessicaMcHughBooks.com.

Find out more about Jessica by following her on Twitter, Facebook or at her blog.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. DO you already have a Champagne Kid, or are you taking applications? I was born for this job. It’s like being a bartender and bouncer all in one!

    Like

  2. A charming interview.

    Like

  3. I wouldn’t mind having a merry band of Champagne Kids!! That way I could have pink, spumante, brut, cold duck, and every other kind under the sun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

