Horror Writer Spotlight: Red Tash

Here at Bloody Bookish we believe writers are real life superheros.

And horror writers? Another breed entirely.

Our Horror Writer Superhero Spotlight shines the spotlight squarely on the twisted minds who bring you dark literature in all its dastardly forms.

Today’s spotlight shines on Red Tash. Find out why she believes the very thing that would defeat the forces of good could also lead to her ultimate downfall…

Q: What is the name of your alter ego?
A: Red Tash is one of them, rollergirl Tyra Durden is another.

Q: Who or what is your nemesis?
A: Mean people.

Q: What would be a fitting name for your sidekick?
A: Violet Tendency would be a great sidekick name, but I know the rollergirl namesake & she’s very much in charge of her own adventures. Hell No Kitty is another good ‘un.

Q: If you could (or do) have superpowers, describe them.
A: Depends on the day. Mondays I can turn my enemies’ blood to vinegar, Tuesdays I can teleport to the moon if I hold my breath for a full minute. Seriously, though, I actually do have superpowers.  I get done a ridiculous amount of work each day while juggling four children & homeschooling.  When I was young, I used to dream of flying. I’d swing on the playground and stare up into the clouds and imagine I’d one day just jump out of the swing and fly away.

Q: How would you conquer the forces of good/evil (depending on your Superhero’s moral affiliation).
A: The forces of good are easily conquered. Just bring chocolate and pass out the lattes. Defeating evil is a much trickier game. I think evil is only defeated when the perpetrator is unsuccessful at achieving his/her goals (which happens to be a big plot point in one of my works-in-progress, the sequel to This Brilliant Darkness).  The tricky thing about evil is how quickly it adds up.  One everyday evil + one everyday evil + one more everyday evil, and suddenly you’ve got trouble.

Q: What would be your ultimate downfall?
A: Did I not mention chocolate & coffee?  😉

More about Red Tash
Red Tash is the pseudonym of a serious journalist, writer, mother, etc., etc., and then some more etc. for good measure.  She writes dark fantasy, which readers call dripping with poetic imagery and laugh-out-loud funny.  Go, her.

This Brilliant Darkness is her first book, now available wherever fine ebooks are sold.  Troll or Derby will be her first YA dark fantasy, coming soon.

Find out more about Red Tash at her online spaces and places: her website, Twitter and Facebook.

Still jonesin’ for more horror? Check out the Coffin Hop for 99 ways to win Halloween swag!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Red Tash says:

    Thanks for having me! Will RT ASAP.

    Like

  2. I love the superpowers! If I was ever a derby girl, I think my name would have to be JessiCacaphony. 🙂 Great interview!

    Like

Leave a Reply

