The Moon Hill Blog Tour: The Importance of Weird

It is with great excitement that I announce Bloody Bookish as the first stop on Anthony Rapino’s Moon Hill Blog Tour!

As you may know, I am a huge fan of Tony’s (just read my review of his chapbook, Uprooted).

I totally dig his slightly(okay more than slightly) insane approach to promoting his work. I love that he isn’t afraid to think outside the box and let his freak flag fly. Like in this guest post…take it away, Tony!

Thank you to Her Royal Horror-ness, Mary Rajotte for helping me celebrate the release of my new story collection, Welcome to Moon Hill.

Where would we be without a little weird in our lives?  I often think it’d be somewhere between fly fishing and a dry toast symposium.  But none of those Jesus toasts would be allowed, because that would make things just a smidge too interesting.

Weird is interesting because weird is different.  The great villain of all strangeness in the world is acceptance.  Think about it.  Let’s take something like the Westminster Dog Show.  Most people wouldn’t think twice about the dog show.  It’s been going on for years, and it’s a largely accepted, televised event.  But it didn’t start out that way.

Do you honestly believe parading a bunch of dogs in a circle while people judged their gait wasn’t freaking weird at some point?  Really?  And I suppose cupping a dog’s balls in front of a stadium of people has always been the height of normalcy as well?  So you’re telling me you don’t think this is weird?

 

And this?

 

And this?

Okay, so maybe that one is also cute.  But this is my point.  Something as strange as the Westminster Dog Show has become normal due to acceptance.  When that happens, our minds become clouded.  We no longer see something for what it is.  Instead we see it through the filter of social acceptance, the muddied waters of normalcy.

Reality television, scrotum-cupping dog judges, television shows about cake: weird.  Flavored coffee, “going green,” blogging: weird.  Life: really weird!

Make no mistake; this is just how I like it.  Look closer at those things you’ve accepted.  The next time you’re at the supermarket going through self-checkout, think about it.  That was weird at one time.

Let’s make it weird again.

If you’d like to help me defeat all normalcy left in the universe, join my Schizo Squad.

Welcome to Moon Hill: A collection of 19 stories, and a couple surprises.

Moon Hill is a forgotten place that few purposely visit, and even less leave. Once you arrive, the deep dark of the forest creeps into your mind and will not relent. Strange flowers that grow from deer carcasses, murderous lunatics, talking ravens, wriggling parasites that induce eruptive confessions, and demons of every variety: they all live here too.

Even so, the residents of Moon Hill can feel, beyond the fear and distress, that this land is special and they are lucky to live here. Most everyone feels that way right up until the day they come a little too close to the magic of this place. When dusk’s light leaks through their carefully locked doors and rips holes in their minds.

Then, they pray for release.

–Welcome to Moon Hill.

 

Be sure to check out the other stops on Tony’s Moon Hill Blog Tour!

2/8/12:  http://chandarawrites.blogspot.com/
2/10/12:  www.ringkeeper.blogspot.com
2/15/12:  http://www.categardner.net/

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for the great intro, Mary!

    Like

  2. Terrific post, y’all! I’m all for scrotum-cupping weirdness and anything written by the adventuresome Anthony J.

    Like

  3. I’m in love with short story anthologies this year. Your cover and blurb are very exciting.

    Like

  4. Cathy, ha! Sounds like you’re a perfect fit for the Schizo Squad. 😉

    C. Lee, Thank you! If you decide to take a chance on my little collection, I do hope you enjoy it. And if you’re not quite ready to take the chance, I have links to free stories on my site that you can sample. Cheers!

    Like

  5. Love it. Dog shows, yeah, they are weird. LOL
    Tony, your book sounds totally strange and awesome! 🙂

    Like

  6. You see! I knew I wasn’t the only one. There’s something surreal about five old dudes presenting numerous trophies and ribbons to a dog on a pedestal.

    Amanda, thank you. I do hope you enjoy your trip to Moon Hill if you decide to go (just make sure to leave a trail of breadcrumbs behind you).

    Like

  7. Cate Gardner says:

    Oh my goodness, best guest blog post ever. Ha!

    Like

  8. Red Tash says:

    So true! Well said!

    Like

  9. Katey says:

    FABULOUS and true, Tony, every bit. There’s weird in every damn thing in the world, and it scares me sometimes what I take for granted…

    But I have never taken dog scrotum-cupping as normal. Because that’s just straight effing weird, dude. :/ Poor puppies.

    Like

  10. Don’t worry, Katey. They love it.

    Like

  11. Laurita says:

    Weird is where it’s at. I think we should all embrace the weirdness that is inside. You, Tony, are a poineer. But stay away from my dog.

    Like

  12. Mwa ha ha ha! Wait…what? :-p

    Like

  13. Rebecca says:

    Thanks for having Anthony on the site. I’m a fan of the weird, and after the first story 😉 became a fan of Anthony Rapino. Great stories in this collection! Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

